loading...Please wait while content is loading.


2010 FIBA World Championship for Women is unambiguously the biggest and most significant sporting event of the calendar year in the Czech Republic. The best players of women´s basketball in the world will come to the “Heart of Europe” for the second time in the history of basketball world championships. For the first time it happened in 1967 when players of the former Soviet Union beat Korean national team in the final game and took gold medals.

Russia´s waiting for title
Even after 43 years Russian players are among the hot favourites again. They are hungry for the title all the more because they are the second most successful team in the history of world basketball championships but they have not won gold medals for 27 years.
The Soviet Union last won the championship in 1983 in Brazil when they managed to beat United States 84:82 in a dramatic battle. However, the six-fold world champions have been waiting for the similar success since then. In the last three championships the Russian team always advanced to the finals but have never taken the last golden step. In 1998 and 2002 they lost with the United States, four years ago Australia became their conqueror. Now it will be very interesting to watch the Russian players trying hard to break the spell of the final game.

American comeback
Americans are the most successful team in the history of world championships as far as the number of gold medals is concerned. They have celebrated the gold medals seven times, they keep one set of silver medals and they have gained bronze medals twice. The bronze, as the last addition to this rich collection, is considered to be a failure by the American side. Americans took two titles in a row and the 3rd place in Brazil was rated as a significant fallback. American players are determined to return to the basketball throne they left.

United States, Russia and the others
A dominion of the United States – Russia duo over the women´s basketball world is really striking. Since 1951, when history of world women´s basketball championship was born, these two nations have gained 13 titles out of 15. Their hegemony was broken only by Brazilian national team in 1994 and by Australia in 2006. That means Australian players will be defending their title this time.

Czech dream
Women´s basketball has a huge tradition in the Czech Republic and there is no coincidence that Czech national team is in the 6th place of historical standings of the world championships. The biggest achievements of Czech (at that time Czechoslovak) women´s basketball go back to sixties and seventies (1964 – 2nd place, 1971 – 2nd place) but the current generation has something to build on as well. Gold medals from 2005 European Women Basketball Championship are clear proof of that. And particularly at home the Czech players would like to brush off the former glory of Czech women´s basketball.


FIBA World Championship for Women
FIBA World Championship for Women is a competition of currently best women basketball national teams from all around the world and is held quadrennially (once for four years).

2010 FIBA World Championship for Women will take place in Czech Republic from September 23rd to October 3rd, 2010. The competition will be held in three cities – Ostrava, Brno and Karlovy Vary.

Total of 16 national teams will participace in 2010 FIBA World Championship for Women. Czech Republic was qualified as a host nation, Australia was qualified as a defending champion.

Remaining 14 teams qualified from their respective continental championships.
European zone: France, Belarus, Russia, Spain, Greece
American zone: United State, Brazil, Argentina, Canada
Asian zone: China, Korea, Japan
African zone: Mali, Senegal

FIBA Daily Newsletter
Subscribe to our daily newsletter and get the latest basketball news directly into your mailbox.

2010 FIBA World Championship Global Partners and Marketing Partners